Children's Corner
Sai Ram Children,
You must have eagerly awaited this issue…On 15th of August more than six decades ago, India emerged independent from the foreign rule. Two songs come to our mind immediately as the thought of independence flashes across. While one has been the battle cry for our freedom movement, the other instills a sense of pride in us for being one nation clearly reflecting Unity in Diversity.

August 2009
Vande Maataram - Our National Song
Bankim Chandra Chatterjee composed the song Vande Mataram in an inspired moment. Rabindranath Tagore sang it at the 1896 session of the Indian National Congress which was the first political occasion for it to be sung and it was left to the genius of Shri Aurobindo to interpret the deeper meaning of the song out of which India received the philosophy of new Nationalism. The English translation of Vande Mataram rendered by Shri Aurobindo, is considered as official and best as per Bhavan's book, Vande Mataram by Moni Bagchee.

Bankim Chandra Chatterjee
The song first appeared in Bankimchandra Chattopadhyay's book Anandamatha published in 1882 amid fears of a ban by British Raj. However, the song itself was actually written in 1876. Jadunath Bhattacharya set the tune for this song just after it was written.

Vande Mataram Song:
vande maataram (8)
sujalam suphalam malayaja sheetalam
shasyashyamalam maataram, vande
sujalam suphalam malayaja sheetalam
shasyashyaamalam maataram, vande maataram !!
vande maataram (8)
shubhra jyotsna pulakitayaaminim
phulla kusumita drumadalashobhinim
suhaasinim sumadhurabhaashhinim
sukhadaam varadaam maataram
vande maataram (8)
(sapta koti kantha kalakalaninaada karale
nisapta koti bhujaidhruta karakarvale) 2
abalakeno maa eto bale
bahubaladhaarinim namaami tarinim
ripudalavarinim maataram, vande maataram !!
vande maataram (8)
tvam hi durga dashapraharanadhaarini
kamala kamaladala vihaarini
vaani vidyaadaayini, namaami tvam
namaami kamalam amalam atulam
sujalam suphalam maataram
shyamalam saralam susmitam bhooshhitam
dharinim bharanim maataram, vande maataram !!

Meaning of the Song:
Mother, I bow to thee!
Rich with thy hurrying streams,
bright with orchard gleams,
Cool with thy winds of delight,
Dark fields waving Mother of might,
Mother free.
Glory of moonlight dreams,
Over thy branches and lordly streams,
Clad in thy blossoming trees,
Mother, giver of ease
Laughing low and sweet!
Mother I kiss thy feet,
Speaker sweet and low!
Mother, to thee I bow.
Who hath said thou art weak in thy lands
When the sword flesh out in the seventy million hands
And seventy million voices roar
Thy dreadful name from shore to shore?
With many strengths who art mighty and stored,
To thee I call Mother and Lord!
Though who savest, arise and save!
To her I cry who ever her foeman drove
Back from plain and Sea
And shook herself free.
Thou art wisdom, thou art law,
Thou art heart, our soul, our breath
Though art love divine, the awe
In our hearts that conquers death.
Thine the strength that nervs the arm,
Thine the beauty, thine the charm.
Every image made divine
In our temples is but thine.
Thou art Durga, Lady and Queen,
With her hands that strike and her
swords of sheen,
Thou art Lakshmi lotus-throned,
And the Muse a hundred-toned,
Pure and perfect without peer,
Mother lend thine ear,
Rich with thy hurrying streams,
Bright with thy orchard gleems,
Dark of hue O candid-fair!
In thy soul, with jewelled hair
And thy glorious smile divine,
Lovilest of all earthly lands,
Showering wealth from well-stored hands!
Mother, mother mine!
Mother sweet, I bow to thee,
Mother great and free

Jana-Gana-Mana - Our National Anthem
(Thou Art the Ruler of All Minds)
The Indian National anthem, composed originally in Bengali by Rabindranath Tagore, was adopted in its Hindi version by the Constituent Assembly as the National Anthem of India on 24 January 1950. It was first sung 27 December 1911 at the Calcutta session of the Indian National Congress. The complete song consists of five stanzas. The lyrics were rendered into English by Tagore himself.
"Jana Gana Mana Adhinayaka Jaya He
Bharat Bhagya Vidhata
Punjab Sindh Gujarat Maratha
Dravida Utkala Banga
Vindhya Himachal Yamuna Ganga
Ucchala Jaladhi Taranga
Tubh Shubha Name Jage
Tubh Shubha Ashisha Mange
Gahe Tubh Jaya Gata
Jan Gan Mangaldayak Jay He
Bharat Bhagya Vidhata
Jaye He ! Jaye He ! Jaye He !
Jaye,Jaye,Jaye,Jaye He "

Translation of The national anthem- Jana Gana Mana In English
Thou are the ruler of the minds of all people, dispenser of India's destiny. The name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sind, Gujurat and Maratha. of the Dravid and Orissa and Bengal.

It Echoes in the hills of Vindhyas and Himalayas, mingles in the music of Yamuna and Ganga and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Sea.

They pray for your blessing and sing thy praise. The salvation of all peaople is thy hand, thou dispenser of India's destiny. Victory, Victory, Victory to thee.

The Jana Gana Mana was composed by Shri Rabindranath Tagore and first sung at the Calcutta session of the Indian National Congress on December 27th, 1911. It was adopted as the National Anthem of India on 24th January, 1950 by the Constituent Assembly. The first stanza( out of five stanzas) of the song forms the National Anthem. Below are the five stanzas however in Bengali.

Jano Gano Mano Adhinaayako Jayo Hey
Bhaarato Bhaagyo Bidhaataa

Panjaabo Sindhu Gujaraato Maraathaa
Draabirho Utkalo Bango
Bindhyo Himaachalo Jamunaa Gangaa
Uchchhalo Jalodhi Tarango

Tabo Shubho Naamey Jaagey
Tabo Shubho Aashisho Maagey
Gaahey Tabo Jayogaathaa

Jano Gano Mangalo Daayako
Jayo Hey Bhaarato Bhaagyo Bidhaataa

Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey,
Jayo Jayo Jayo Jayo Hey

Aharaho Tabo Awhbaano Prachaarito
Shuni Tabo Udaaro Baani
Hindu Bauddho Shikho Jaino
Parashiko Musholmaano Christaani

Purabo Pashchimo Aashey
Tabo Singhaasano Paashey
Premohaaro Hawye Gaanthaa

Jano Gano Oikyo Bidhaayako Jayo Hey
Bhaarato Bhaagyo Bidhaataa
Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey,
Jayo Jayo Jayo, Jayo Hey

Patano Abhyudayo Bandhuro Panthaa
Jugo Jugo Dhaabito Jaatri
Hey Chiro Saarothi, Tabo Ratha Chakrey
Mukharito Patho Dino Raatri

Daaruno Biplabo Maajhey
Tabo Shankhodhwoni Bajey
Sankato Duhkho Traataa

Jano Gano Patho Parichaayako
Jayo Hey Bhaarato Bhaagyo Bidhaataa
Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey,
Jayo Jayo Jayo, Jayo Hey

Ghoro Timiro Ghono Nibiro
Nishithey Pirhito Murchhito Deshey
Jagrato Chhilo Tabo Abichalo Mangalo
Nato Nayoney Animeshey

Duhswapney Aatankey
Rakkhaa Koriley Ankey
Snehamoyi Tumi Maataa

Jano Gano Duhkho Trayako
Jayo Hey Bhaarato Bhaagyo Bidhaataa
Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey,
Jayo Jayo Jayo, Jayo Hey

Raatri Prabhatilo Udilo Rabichhabi
Purbo Udayo Giri Bhaaley
Gaahey Bihangamo Punyo Samirano
Nabo Jibano Rasho Dhaley

Tabo Karunaaruno Ragey
Nidrito Bhaarato Jagey

Jayo Jayo Jayo Hey, Jayo Rajeshwaro
Bhaarato Bhaagyo Bidhaataa
Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey, Jayo Hey,
Jayo Jayo Jayo, Jayo Hey
Jai Hind

- October 11
- December 09

Old Editions
» 2014
» 2013
» 2012
» 2011
» 2010
» 2009
» Home
  Copyright © 2009. Optimized for 1024 x 768 resolution; IE 5.5 & above.