Glory of Bharath  »  INDICA
Mukkoti Ekadasi
Margashirsha maas or Margashira masam is the ninth month as per traditional Hindu calendar. It is believed as one of the auspicious months for Hindus. Margashirsh month is also mentioned in the Bhagavad Gita by Lord Sri Krishna. The below slokam tells about the significance and spiritual importance of margasheersha maas.
Bruhatsama thatha samnam
Gayatri Chandasamaham
Masanam Margashoham
Ruthunam Kusumakarna

It means - Lord Krishna says "I, myself, stay in Bruhathsama in the Samaveda, Gayatri in Chandassu or literature, Margashirsha or Margashira in months and Vasant rithu in rithus or seasons".

It is said that performing ritual bath in the Ganga river during Margashirsh month gives the result of ten million grahan snan. Vishnu Puja during the month is highly auspicious. Lakshmi puja is observed on Margashirsh lakshmivar or Guruvar during margashira masam. Vishnu Sahasranama parayana and visiting Vishnu temples in the month is most preferred deeds.
Mukkoti Ekadasi, also known as Vaikunta Ekadasi, is observed on Dhanurmasa Ekadashi or the 11th day of Dhanurmasam. This festival is celebrated with lot of fervor at Vishnu temples in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. 'Vaikunta Dwara Darshanam', visiting the Lord through Vaikunta Dwaram (Entrance to Heaven), is the main highlight during Mukkoti Ekadasi day in Vishnu temples. Vaikunta Dwaram is opened on only Vaikunta Ekadashi day which lies at North side to the temple. Devotees observe upavasam (fasting) throughout the day and break their fast on Mukkoti Dwadashi day, the day after Mukkoti Ekadashi. In Kerala, this Ekadasi is celebrated as Swarga Vathil Ekadashi at Trivandrum Padmanabha Swamy Temple. In North India, it is known as Putrada Ekadashi.

According to the Padma Purana, during the Krita Yuga (also termed the golden age), an asura or demon called Muran harassed both the devas (Gods) and mortals. Unable to bear his tyranny, the devas sought refuge in Shiva. He directed them to approach Vishnu. Vishnu agreed to help the devas and went out to battle with Muran. During the long battle, which lasted one thousand celestial years, Vishnu needed to rest for a while. He entered a beautiful cave called Himavati in Badarikashrama to sleep. Muran wanted to strike Vishnu while he was sleeping. However, Shakti " Vishnu's female energy " emerged out of his body and assumed the form of a beautiful damsel who fought Muran and vanquished him. When Vishnu awoke he was very pleased and named this maiden as Ekadasi and granted her a boon. The maiden said, "O Lord, if You are pleased with me and wish to give me a boon, then give me the power to deliver people from the greatest sins if they fast of this day". Vishnu granted her the boon and declared that people worshipping her would reach Vaikuntha. Thus, it is said, was born the first ekadasi, which was a Dhanurmasa shukla paksha ekadasi.
On this day mupathi Mukoti Devas (33 crores) will have Dharshan of Sriman Naryan through north gate. The word Mukkoti means Mupathu Mukkoti. Hence the devotees entering through north gate and having Dharshan of Sriman Narayan is known as Uttara Dwaara Darshanam. According to Vishnu Purana, fasting on Vaikunta Ekadasi is equivalent to fasting on the remaining 22 Ekadasis of the (Hindu) year. Temples all over the India makes a door kind of structure on this day for devotees to pass through that. It is believed that one will be absolved of all sins and will attain Moksha and the doors of Vaikunta will be kept open for the soul after it leaves this physical body In Mahabaratha, Bhagavad Gita - the conversation between Lord Krishna and Arjuna at the beginning of Kurukshetra War is said to have occurred on this day.

Inner Significance The Scriptures say , that top is Uttara , under the feet is Dakshina (south) and the front side is East and the back side is West. So, on the top of the head (UTTARA) there is a Dwaaram. It is Brahma Randhram or Brahma Dwaaram. It is Uttara Dwaaram. MUKKOTI means a place of combining three things. In every one`s body there are three Nadis called 1.Ida 2.Pingala and the 3.Sushumna. Ida and Pingala are also called Surya and Chandra Nadis and they are the two that run along the Spine and the two Nostrils. If one does Kundalini Yoga saadhana under the guidance of a Sadguru, who is a real Master, then gradually the Kundalini Shakti arises. Ida& Pingala gradually, after correct training and Saadhana go step by step crossing the Six Chakras (Energy Centres) and finally reach SAHASRAARA CHAKRAM. Then the very noble, Sushumna Naadi arises and it travels to Agnaachakram and from there takes diversion and goes to the point in Sahasraara Chakram, to where the Ida and Pingala have come. There these three meet is koti. It is Knot. MUKKOTI - three naadis combining. It is the pinnacle in Sadhana. Then the Saadhaka reaches almost the final stage. Then, the golden coloured Susumna Naadi comes out and the Saddhaka then sees in his Mano Chakshu (inner eye) a two feathered (butterfly like) glow. Then the Saadhaka is said to have lost in himself. That is the Uttara Dwaara Darshanam.

- October 11
- December 09

Old Editions
» 2014
» 2013
» 2012
» 2011
» 2010
» 2009
» Home
  Copyright © 2009. Optimized for 1024 x 768 resolution; IE 5.5 & above.